COVID-19 Update: Law Offices of Braid Pezzaglia is available to existing and potential clients by phone or email during our regular business hours. Learn more.

How Do I Request an Accident Report in San Jose?

Blog

How Do I Request an Accident Report in San Jose?

When a car accident occurs, police may come to the crash scene. If they do, they will put together a police report, which will contain important information about your accident. It should contain the date, time and location of the accident. It may also contain information about the involved parties, witnesses and accident scene. It is important that you have a copy of this report if you need to file an insurance claim or personal injury claim. Below, San Jose car accident lawyer Braid Pezzaglia explains how to request an accident report in San Jose.

Requesting an Accident Report in San Jose

You can obtain an accident report from the San Jose Police Department Records Unit. You can request a copy in person or by mail. The current fee for an accident report in San Jose is $16 per report.

Request a San Jose Accident Report in Person

You can request a crash report in person at the SJPD Records Unit. The address is:

201 West Mission Street
San Jose, CA 95110

Its current hours are Monday through Sunday, 8 AM – 4 PM. You can also call the unit with any questions you may have at (408) 277-4261.

Request a San Jose Accident Report by Mail

You can send in an accident report request by mail by following these steps:

  1. Fill out the Vehicle Accident Report Request Form
  2. Include a check or money order payable to the City of San Jose for $16
  3. Return the form and check to:

San Jose Police Department
Records Unit
201 W. Mission Street
San Jose, CA 95110

Request an Accident Report From the California Highway Patrol

Many interstates and state highways run through San Jose. If your accident occurred on an interstate or highway, you can request an accident report from the California Highway Patrol (CHP). You can either request it in person or by mail at your nearest CHP office.

In order to obtain a copy of your crash report, you will need:

  • CHP 190 – Collision Request Form
  • Photocopy of your state driver license or identification card, or a notarized signature
  • Check or money order payable to California Highway Patrol

You should call the CHP office where your report was filed to determine the cost of your report. It generally ranges from $10 to $40 dollars depending on its size.

Do You Need a San Jose Auto Accident Lawyer?

After a serious car accident, finding a good car accident lawyer is one of the first steps you should take. An attorney can help you obtain a copy of your police report and understand your best legal options. Contact our auto accident lawyer in San Jose to discuss your situation during a free consultation. Call us at (408) 752-5834 or fill out our online contact form.

Directions to the Law Offices of Braid Pezzaglia.